Democrats for Education Reform (DFER) this week awarded Senator Johnston with the 2012 Brian Bennett Education Warrior Award, given to reformers with a “dedication to reforming our education system” and “outstanding courage to shatter the status quo and change the political rhetoric.”

Senator Johnston received the award along with Rhode Island Education Commissioner Deborah Gist, New Jersey State Senator Teresa Ruiz, and former Minnesota State Senator Ember Reichgott Junge.

DFER Executive Director Joe Williams said in a release:

“The leaders we are honoring today have worked tirelessly to better the lives of children through countless efforts to improve our nation’s education system. Their leadership has produced the kind of exponential impact that will continue to benefit children for years to come.”

Previous winners of the award, named after a California education reform leader who helped launch some of the state’s first charter schools, include: Peter Groff, head of the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools and Senator Johnston’s predecessor in the State Senate; and Theresa Peña, former Denver Public Schools board member.

Click here to read more from DFER’s website.